top of page
Featured Posts

Puberty Explained

What is puberty?

Puberty is a time when your body begins to change to become more like an adult.

It's when you start growing hair under your armpits and start getting boobies.

What is a menstrual period?

When puberty begins, hormones are produced. These hormones prepare your body for possible pregnancy. The hormones also cause the lining of the uterus to become thicker with extra blood and tissue. The lining of the uterus then breaks down and flows out of the body. The discharge of blood and tissue from lining is the menstrual period.

How can I track my period on a calendar?

Mark the first day your bleeding starts on a calendar with an “X”.​ Put an X on each day of the following days that you have bleeding. Count the first X as day 1. Keep counting days until you have your next period.

How often do I change my pad?

Change pad every 4-8 hours or whenever it seems full or feels wet. Some girls change their pads when they go to the bathroom.

When will I get my first period?

Between 9 & 16. After developing breasts, waist, hips, pubic hair. Weighing over 100 lbs. When you mother gets hers.

What will happen when I get my period?

It will be light, few spots of blood/brown stains

How long will it last?

2 to 10 days

How often will I get my period?

Cycles range from 21 to 45 days. Your body needs to find its own rhythm

Will my period hurt?

No, but the cramps cause discomfort

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page